Posted by: Zel Ram | February 3, 2008

Danny Welbeck

danny welbeck
He’s already impressed in United’s U18s this season, and now he’s knocking on the first-team door. Red View meets the Reds’ latest exciting young prospect…

Name: Danny Welbeck

Born: Manchester

Age: 17

Position: Striker. I can also play on either wing.

Strengths: I’m quite comfortable on the ball. I don’t mind playing under pressure from defenders and my shooting is all right as well.

Things I can work on : I need to build up my strength. I’m still growing at the moment so that will partly come naturally. I’d like to score more goals, and improve my goals-to-games ratio. That’s important as a striker. I see myself as more of a support striker, but I want to also be able to play up top.

A player at United I admire : We’re spoilt for choice here. I look up to Rooney and Ronaldo for their attacking qualities, but I’d also say Rio, he’s a great role model. It may seem strange, a striker looking up to a defender, but I think I can learn from him on the pitch. He’s so calm on the ball even when strikers are closing him down. I think it’s good to have an appreciation of players in other positions, too.

Life at United: You always feel like you’re improving because training is at such a high level and there’s always room for improvement.

I first got spotted : Playing for Fletcher Moss, my local team. I was about eight. I was at City, but they didn’t sign me and United asked me down for a trial and that was it. It was nerve-wracking. I remember coming to The Cliff with my dad. It was a bit intimidating at first, but you just get on with it.

In five years I will be: Hopefully playing in the first team. If not, I’d want to be playing at as high a standard as possible. But, for now, I’m thinking more short-term and trying to keep on learning and improving.

Best moment so far : I scored for England in the U17s World Cup in Korea. It was a great experience, but it was so hot! It was tough playing in those conditions. For United, it was great playing in front of 38,000 fans at the Emirates Stadium last year [in the Youth Cup semi final]. The return leg at Old Trafford was great as well, both really good experiences, especially because we won.

Favourite other sports: I don’t really play many other sports, but I’m not bad at table tennis. We’ve got a few good players in the youth team. Joe Dudgeon is good and so is Matthew James.

Music : Hip-hop, R’n’B. But I don’t mind dance and a bit of indie.

Films: 300, Blood Diamond.

Best trainer: Joe Dudgeon puts his all into everything. It’s great because it gets you going as well. Matthew James is another one, he’s class in training.

Worst trainer: I’m not sure… [long pause]. I’ll say Kenny Strickland. In training you wouldn’t want to be on his team! I’d rather play against him!

Team joker : There’s a few. Matty James is a funny lad, but the funniest are Anton Bryan and Jimmy Derbyshire when they get together. I like to get involved in the banter and the practical jokes, stuff like soaking people’s trainers, putting food in someone’s boxers…[laughs] the sort of things that they will find out about, but won’t know it’s you!

Best dressed: Cameron [Stewart]. Cam’s pretty slick.

Worst dressed: Jimmy Derbyshire’s bad… Ben Amos is bad… Joe Dudgeon is bad.

Yourself in three words: Humorous. Ambitious. Determined.


Responses

  1. i really enjoy to see blacks playing in the english premier league.i also like the Manchester United players as well.for more,i’ll say, Danny,keep your eyes opened on Manchester co’s, it’sreally a good team.say hi to C ROO,NANI, ANDERSON and my main man TEVEZ for me.my regards to Sir Alex Fergusson.

  2. He is Gorgeous 🙂
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. Please,Danny welbeck should consider playing for Ghana.

  4. Dear HI
    I am gald to send you this message, how greatful you are ?I hope you are fine in the lord.
    the reason why am senden you this kind message is that, i need help to go to school.
    first of all i will like to tell about myself, am young boy when my mum dead and i went to stay with a guardian in which i,ve been an runing airruns for the guardian,but she did not help me to school.
    due to my father,i have not see my dady before,sence i was 5 years,plz plz i need a help and i hope you can help me.
    One day i was witching the televission and i saw your progarm so i decided to send you this kind of message.I,ve a great talent in which i can play better football and i want to go to school to polish my talent,i will be gald if you help me
    to school.samuel welbeck
    p.o.box gp 4120
    ACCRA-GHANA
    233-0278513368
    c/o alex lokk

  5. plz help me with some money,jerzy,boot and hols,but the money i will use it to ferther my education.plz!!! help me.

  6. man u is the team i suport in ghana so plz help me with God

  7. denny, ghana is your home there is no way you can take someone parents to be your own remember what is said to mario bawuah.i hope youn will make the right decision by playing for ghana.ghana love needs you.


Leave a comment

Categories